altered art

Wedding guestbook….

Some friends of ours got married in late summer this year and I wanted to gift them with a handmade guestbook.

I’d seen some nice ones on Pinterest, and I figured I’d have all summer to learn and try binding and different techniques….I really wanted it to be special!

I had all these little bits and bobs, vintage jewellery bits, lace, old buttons and the center of that neat fabric rosette is an earring. I sort of wanted to do a trial run, but I didn’t want to waste any of my embellishments….and I always have this belief that if something goes wrong I’ll be able to MacGyver my way out.

I used an old book, covered it with some tissue paper and texture paste, then covered that in linen…..the outer binding is done with cheesecloth, a sort of a jute ribbon and some lace.  

I loved making this, and it inspired me to keep making keepsake journals, that will without doubt make an appearance on this blog!

Leave a Reply

